By Hartsville Vidette Staff Reporter

When character counts, Trousdale County Elementary and Jim B. Satterfield Middle Schools are able to rise to the occasion.

Character Counts! improves the lives of the children who engage in the program- and the communities that embrace it and it gives youth, adults and communities a framework for ethical living.

Andrew Nelson, a student at TCES, received a new bicycle and helmet from the Hartsville Rotary Club as part of the Character Counts program.

Character Counts! is the nation’s most widely used character development framework, adopted by schools as well as youth, sports and civic organizations. It is based upon shared beliefs and consensus values, the “Six Pillars of Character.” These are qualities and traits associated with good character.

Trousdale County Elementary and Jim B. Satterfield Middle Schools are on their way to becoming well-rounded citizens thanks to the program. Each nine weeks, three pillars are incorporated into each school. For the most recent nine-week period the three pillars were Trustworthy, Caring and Responsibility.

The nominations for students to be recognized for displaying these pillars are as follows:

Trousdale County Elementary School

Kaleb Blackwell, Iesha Neal, Dixie Chandler, Cohen Smith, Elijah Johnson, Andrew Nelson, Lathan Johnson, Jude Williams, Lierra Sykes, Peyton Scruggs, Kaylee Darnell, Zoey Vaughn, Ashlyn Elmore, Sierra Foster, Parker Day, Ty Swords, Matthew Chambers, Holly Wood, Cannon Sanders, Holden Sarell, Khloe Jewell, Sophia Waterhouse, Bentley Reece, Diane Winter, Cooper Batey, Branden Denham, Fernanda Rodriguez, Izzy Winkles, Khalean Moore, Nevaeh Malone, Mason Rieger, Joselyn Santiago, Kinzley Burgdorf, Melanie Pedigo, Keelyx Moore, Easton Young, Mollie Holder, J.Mac Crabtree, Melvin Marshall, Carlito Mendez, Max Morton, Kanden Wade, Ayden Chism, Heaven Moss, McKenzy Thomas, Matthews Duke, Nicolas Crocco, Dalton Beckmann, Jake Fergusson, Willow Jones, Nick Goodrich, Alivia Livingston, Rafael Rodriguez.

Jim Satterfield Middle School

Character Counts winners at JSMS pose with members of the Hartsville Rotary Club. Grayson Hutchinson received a $100 prize.

Jaylyn Cantrell, Logan Moss, Zach Taylor, Jacob Sullivan, Jesse Whitson, Jaylin Bowman, Raina Guimont, Lamont Mitchell, Naomi Sparks, Elyssa Chapman, Jacob Mink, Cody Carter, Peyton Ray