By Chris Gregory, Managing Editor

Photos by Chris Gregory / Hartsville Vidette
Clint Satterfield and his mother, Eleanor, display the plaques they received from the Middle Tennessee Chapter of the National Football Foundation. Clint and his late father, Jim, jointly received the Roy Kramer Contribution to Football Award.

Hartsville’s First Family of football was celebrated last week by the Middle Tennessee Chapter of the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame.

Former Trousdale County football coaches Jim Satterfield and Clint Satterfield were jointly presented with the Roy Kramer Contribution to Football Award, one of the organization’s highest honors. Jim’s widow, Eleanor, accepted on his behalf.

Presented annually since 1972, the Roy Kramer Award is named for the former commissioner of the Southeastern Conference and recognizes local individuals who have been instrumental in promoting the game of football, with the highest level of leadership, integrity and participation.

“Coach Jim Satterfield established a football program that could compete with anybody,” said former Tennessean sports editor Larry Taft, who presented the award. “What the Satterfields did set the tone for the community for a number of years.

“When Clint came back and started coaching there, he continued a legacy that has established that program as the top small-school program in the state.”

Jim Satterfield won over 200 games, including the 1972 Class AA state championship, while Clint won 239 games and five state titles. Both men also served as Trousdale County’s director or schools, a position Clint continues to hold today.

Both are also members of the TSSAA Hall of Fame, with Jim being inducted in 1987 and Clint joining him last year.

“On behalf of my mother and our family, I want to say thank you to the Football Foundation for this prestigious award,” Clint said in his acceptance remarks.

“This is a great game, and I don’t think I, or anybody else, can give back what the game has given to us. My father always said, ‘I’m not here to teach you football. I’m here about teaching you the game of life.’ Those are the ideals that we pass on to those we lead.”

Among other award winners were former Titans linebacker Tim Shaw, who was diagnosed with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS, or Lou Gehrig’s disease) in 2014, and Baylor Bramble, the Siegel High player who suffered a severe brain injury during a game in 2015.

Both honorees received multiple standing ovations from the audience while sharing their stories.

Trousdale County’s Tanner Lannom receives a Scholar-Athlete Award from former MTSU quarterback Kelly Holcomb.

Each of the 61 Middle Tennessee high schools and seven universities represented also had a student presented with a scholar-athlete award. Trousdale County’s award went to outgoing senior Tanner Lannom.

Lannom, a four-year player, was a three-time All-District selection and the 2015 District 5-A Special Teams MVP.

“Tanner overcame tremendous obstacles to lead our program over the last two years,” said TCHS assistant principal Ben Johnson. “His determination and drive to be the best allowed him to overcome multiple ankle surgeries on his way to becoming 2015 District Special Teams MVP and team captain. Traits of dependability and hard work will make Tanner successful at whatever he pursues.”

Reach Chris Gregory at 615-374-3556 or cgregory@hartsvillevidette.com.